San Marino

The Republic of San Marino includes nine administrative districts called 'castles'. Originally, the term 'castle' characterised only the four Malatesta castles that became part of the Republic of San Marino in 1463, while since 1925 the denomination was extended to the subdivisions of the entire territory.

The 9 castles

The territory of the Castle of San Marino is dominated by Mount Titano, included since 2008 in the World Heritage List, together with the medieval old town, which contains the historical, museum and architectural heritage that most characterises the uniqueness of the Republic. The Rupe del Titano is an extraordinary ecosystem that can be admired by following the path of the same name, a ring-route of about 4 km that runs from Borgo Maggiore along the upper part of the mountain to the Third Tower. Along the way you will come across the area known as the Santuario della Tanaccia, an archaeological site that confirms the existence of a place of worship frequented from the 5th century BC to the 5th century AD. The Sentiero delle Cascatelle e Mulini di Canepa (Path of the Waterfalls and Mills of Canepa), which reaches the complex of the ancient water mills, is also of great scenic interest.

In ancient times, the Castrum Olnani stood here, whose etymology, according to some, is linked to the rich vegetation surrounding the Ausa stream, consisting of wild ash trees and hornbeams. Together with Fiorentino, Montegiardino and Faetano, Serravalle is one of the four castles that were conquered by San Marino during the last war in which San Marino took part in 1463, fought against the Malatestas on the side of the Papal League whose allies were the Montefeltro. The historic core of the castle stands on the site of the ancient Malatesta fortress, some traces of which remain in the structure of the bell tower. Piazza Giovanni Bertoldi commemorates the Franciscan monk from Serravalle who was responsible for the first Latin translation of the Divine Comedy. Serravalle is home to the San Marino Stadium and Multieventi Sport Domus sports facilities. In the hamlet of Dogana, the portal designed by architect Giancarlo De Carlo marks the state border. Characterized by a lively productive and commercial fabric, Serravalle has an ancient rural vocation, witnessed by Villa Manzoni, the country residence of the Counts Manzoni-Borghesi, whose original nucleus dates back to the 17th century. The territory is also renowned for its vineyards.

Before 1463, Domagnano was a border area and part of the eighth Gualdaria, an ancient division of the territory. Sterpeto is the birthplace of one of the first known Captains Regent, Filippo da Sterpeto. In 1892, the famous Treasure of Domagnano, a precious gold set attributable to a high-ranking Ostrogoth noblewoman, was found in Lagucci. The presence of settlements in Roman and Gothic times is also testified by the Villa di Domagnano, an archaeological site of considerable interest. A didactic arboretum has been set up in Cà Vagnetto, where it is possible to admire about 2000 plants of over 100 different species. At the Torraccia airfield, the San Marino Aeroclub offers tourist flights.

The historic centre is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Traditionally known as Mercatale, it was the extension of the city on the slopes of the mountain, a place dedicated to trade, full of shops, where important agricultural fairs and the weekly market were held, already documented in 1244. Famous in the past were also the wine cellars, where the San Marino Muscat was preserved and consumed. Worthy of mention are the Natural History Museum, the Sanctuary of the Beata Vergine della Consolazione designed by Giovanni Michelucci, the Civic Clock Tower by Francesco Azzurri, the Church of Sant'Antimo that preserves the painting depicting Saint Agatha carried in procession every year on 5 February. The Mercatale was joined to the city by the Costa dell'Arnella, whose name derives from the trees (ornielli) that lined it. Today the panoramic cable car connects Borgo Maggiore to the historic centre of the City of San Marino in just a few minutes.

Like Serravalle, Faetano and Montegiardino it became part of the Republic of San Marino in 1463. Its coat of arms is decorated with three red flowers, like the three peaks on which the ancient castles of Torricella, Fiorentino and Pennarossa stood. The ruins of the last two can be seen along the Castellaccio path. Of the ancient medieval fortress of Pennarossa (named after the colour of the rock on Monte Moganzio) remain some ruins, such as the two ancient cisterns dug into the rock. Monte Carlo saw the success of an epic feat performed by the aviator Gianni Widmeer, who landed his monoplane plane there in 191

Probably of Lombard origin, Montegiardino passed under the dominion of countless feudal lords up to the Malatesta family, from whom it was taken during the war of 1463 that assigned it to San Marino. On the advice of Federico da Montefeltro, the people of San Marino destroyed the castle for fear of insurrection. The name recalls the fertility of its soil, particularly suitable for agriculture, which had a strong impulse in the 19th century, when many rich families chose the location for their country residences. One of the symbols of the castle is the elm tree that stood at the entrance to the village until 1938, to which the "shouts" of the Malatesta family were posted and then the population gathered around it. The ancient village stands on a chalky relief and it is in the chalk that the Marano torrent has carved deep ripe slopes and suggestive cavities, which can be admired by following the Sentiero delle Coste path. Montegiardino also has an archery range.

Situated on the first foothills of the Apennines, the castle of Chiesanuova originates from the ancient castle of Busignano, whose inhabitants asked to be joined to San Marino in 1320. According to legend, a convent was built on the ruins of the castle of Busignano and its bell tower had a bell made of gold, which was buried by the monks before the convent was destroyed and never found again. The name derives from the construction of a new church in 1500. Piazza S. Conti houses the fountain "La voce nel canneto" (The voice in the reeds) designed by Tonino Guerra.

This is the first place where Saint Marino stopped, on his way up from Rimini along the Marecchia river in search of peace and solitude. The name derives from the spring waters with which, according to tradition, the saint baptised the first 53 Christians belonging to the family of Donna Felicissima. The Corte di Stirvano, which is part of the present territory of Acquaviva, is mentioned in the oldest document preserved in the State Archives, the Placito Feretrano of 885. The Montecerreto path crosses the park of the same name, which includes the archaeological area where the ruins of the ancient castle were found.

A beech tree stands out on the coat of arms of the castle of Faetano. In fact, it is thought that the place name "Castrum Faetani" or "Fegetani", derives from "fagus" or beech, even though the beech woods are no longer there today. It is said that after the fortress built by the Malatesta family was knocked down following its inclusion in the Republic in 1463, as a result of spontaneous submission, an enormous stone was built in place of the fortress, on which a large beech tree stood. In the early years of the last century, a sulphur mine was opened in Faetano, but it was closed after a few years because it was not productive enough. Sport fishing is practised at the artificial lake.


Adrenaline Active

Tiro con l’arco: Easy wild (con istruttore)

At Le Stradelle Park there is a multiple shooting area with a few templates and everything needed for two hours of instinctive archery. The instructor provides the basics to start the activity safely and participants receive educational material and a small souvenir of the day.
Difficulty: easy - an experience suitable for everyone.
Duration: approximately 2 hours.
Adrenaline Active

Arrampicata al tramonto

The thrill of discovering Mount Titano from an unusual point of view and at sunset and try your hand at climbing techniques to overcome the crags passing through equipped sections, in total safety under the guidance of expert guides from the San Marino Alpine Club.
Difficulty: easy - an experience suitable for everyone..
Duration: 3 hours.
Adrenaline Active

Tanaccia arrampicata

Fun and adrenaline are guaranteed for an afternoon in which to try out climbing techniques in total safety under the guidance of experienced Club San Marino guides.
Difficulty: easy - an experience suitable for everyone.
Duration: 3 hours.
Adrenaline Active

Vintage Riding Experience - Tour guidato con moto originali anni 70

Riding a motorbike from the 1970s, you will cross the nine castles into which the Republic of San Marino is divided, amidst fascinating panoramic views.
A professional tour leader accompanies participants, revealing the secrets of using the vehicle for a completely safe experience. On the way back, a small tasting of typical local products is offered.
Bike Experience

Pedalata sul vecchio percorso della ferrovia - tour guidato

An expert e-Bike guide will lead participants through an itinerary on the historic railway line that connected Rimini to San Marino. The route offers considerable natural and historical interest, allowing you to admire the many facets of the San Marino territory.
Difficulty: medium.
Type of route: on dirt road with a slightly uneven surface, wide bends and moderate slopes.
Length: 27 km approx. and a difference in altitude of 1,150 m approx.
Minimum age: 14 years accompanied by a parent.
Duration: 3 hours (including briefing and administrative formalities).
Bike Experience

E-bike tour al tramonto

An expert e-Bike guide will lead participants on a two-hour itinerary to discover the symbolic places, starting from Borgo Maggiore to reach the historic centre of San Marino.
Difficulty: Easy
Type of route: also on dirt road with uneven surface requiring basic technical skills.
Length: about 20 km and an elevation gain of about 1,150 m
Duration: 2h30 (including briefing and administrative formalities)

Centro storico di Borgo Maggiore

Ancient Mercatale since 1244, it is of particular historical interest for its churches, monuments and characteristic quarters of the old town centre, which has been included, together with the old town centre of San Marino and Mount Titano, in the UNESCO World Heritage List. It offers a quick connection, by cable car, to the historic centre of the Capital.

Centro storico di Montegiardino

Its origins date back to the Longobard era and perhaps further afield. Annexed to the Republic in 1463, it is home to an ancient and evocative Castle, with architecture and views of rare beauty.
The Church (1865) is also interesting for the altarpieces it houses, which date back to the 18th century.
Food Experience

Ristorante Righi

Chef Luigi Sartini, 1 Michelin star acquired in 2008, raised at the school of Gino Angelini and Gualtiero Marchesi, offers a cuisine that combines tradition, territory, imagination and refinement in the dishes, as well as a very high quality of raw materials. The restaurant is located on the first floor of a historic building overlooking Piazza della Libertà, the symbolic place of the centuries-old San Marino institutions. On the ground floor, the Osteria La Taverna offers gourmet dishes in a simpler and faster context.
Food Experience

Cantina San Marino

Founded in 1979, the Consorzio Vini Tipici brings together 100 members who cultivate 120 hectares at the foot of Mount Titano, at altitudes between 50 and 400 metres above sea level.
The "San Marino" State Mark of Origin protects and guarantees the origin of the grapes and the quality of the wines produced.
The Wine Shop also offers a selection of Terra di San Marino branded products.
Food Experience

Montegiardino Miele

A farm run by the Guiducci family located in a particularly beautiful natural setting, in the castle of Montegiardino, which offers splendid views of Mount Titano and the surrounding hills, as well as of the Adriatic coast. The honey, produced in different types, is the result of work done with passion and uncontaminated nature, where the bees do not suffer from the presence of harmful chemical substances.
Heritage Collection

Titanus Museum

Emotional videos and high quality images supported by an accurate narration give life to a multimedia experience that offers the public a cognitive immersion in the salient points of the history of San Marino. The suggestions of the multimedia contents lead the public through a time span which goes from Prehistory to the Twenty-first century through the exploration of the historical moments which favoured the birth and development of the San Marino community, allowing it to remain free for centuries. The visit itinerary covers an area of 500 square metres divided into thematic areas.
Heritage Collection

Prima Torre /Rocca Guaita

The First Tower, also known as the Rocca or Guaita, is the largest and oldest of the three fortresses on Mount Titano. The central nucleus, originally a guard post and refuge for the first inhabitants, is one of the oldest fortresses on the Italian peninsula, dating back to the 11th century. The outer walls were part of the first circle of walls built to defend the town. The inner wall is the oldest, with a raised entrance and enclosing the bell tower, the garrison quarters that housed the prisons from the 16th century, and the old watchtower, rebuilt in the second half of the 15th century.
Heritage Collection

Museo di Stato

Archaeological, artistic and numismatic collections The State Museum houses archaeological, artistic and numismatic collections. Since 2001 it has been housed in the historic Palazzo Pergami-Belluzzi and is divided into four floors: Archaeology of the Territory (ground floor), Art for the Republic (first floor), Donation Art (second floor), Donation Archaeology and Numismatics - San Marino (first floor below).
Temporary exhibitions and conferences are held on the second floor below.
Heritage Collection

Galleria Nazionale

The Logge dei Volontari, a magnificent 1930s building renovated for the occasion, houses the new exhibition with the most important names in the history of 20th century Italian art, from Guttuso to Vedova, from Cagli to Cucchi, from Spagnulo to Chia, from Mari to Ontani.
Heritage Collection

Museo della Civiltà Contadina e delle Tradizioni della Repubblica di San Marino

The objects of the past, collected through a careful work of historical reconstruction, come back to life in the exhibition set up in Casa Fabrica, a valuable example of a completely restored peasant house that stands on a farm of ancient origin.
The Museum of Rural Life is fully accessible and, thanks also to the tactile exhibition, is fully accessible to visitors with disabilities.
Casa Fabrica is also the headquarters of the Terra di San Marino Consortium, the creator of the project to enhance and promote typical local products such as meat, honey, milk, wine, oil and cereals.

Funivia panoramica

The panoramic cable car connects the two historic centres listed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites, Borgo Maggiore and San Marino. The journey from the bottom station to the top station (166 metres higher) takes about 2 minutes, during which you can admire a splendid view of over 200 km of Adriatic coastline.
The cableway is fully accessible and allows those with mobility problems to easily reach the historic centre.

Cantone panoramico/Tactilia

Located in an accessible area including the Panoramic Canton, a charming "balcony" on the Adriatic coast, Tactillia is a tactile space entirely dedicated to the artistic and cultural heritage of the Republic.
The exhibition consists of several models with explanations in BRAILLE script.
The works reproduce the tempera of the Retrosi of the Great Council Chamber, the scale model of the Domus Magna Comunis in San Marino stone, the facade of Palazzo Pubblico, the profile of Mount Titano seen from the sea.
Slow Outdoor

Passeggiata raccontata sulla Rupe del Monte Titano

A journey through nature and history with breathtaking views and tales of times gone by, along an itinerary that links the two medieval historic centres of San Marino City and Borgo Maggiore. A walk in the heart of the oldest Republic in the world, along an itinerary which will give you all the geological and naturalistic peculiarities which have contributed to the formation of a habitat which is more unique than rare.
Difficulty: medium
Length: 4 km approx. Height difference: 220 m approx.
Slow Outdoor

Il Cammino del Titano

The Titano Walk is a new itinerary which allows visitors to explore and admire the inland areas of San Marino. The term "Cammino", in fact, is not only intended to evoke physical activity, but above all the exploration and discovery of the millenary history and culture of San Marino. The 43 km route has been created to explore the lesser-known corners of the Republic, with unique and fascinating views, including Mount Titano, an authentic icon of the territory and a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Wellness Relax

Centro medico per il dimagrimento Mességué

The Center, present in San Marino for over 30 years, has as its mission the teaching of natural methods to achieve the ideal weight, effectively fighting imperfections and signs of aging according to the Mességué method. The offer includes a wide range of beauty treatments for face and body care.


Food Experience

Mulino Lab 301

"Grinding is first and foremost an art, but it is also a science" Stone mill with low speed millstones, which allow milling the cereal in order to obtain a flour of higher quality and rich in nutritional values. The passion for the work and the attention to the needs of consumers who demand "healthy and safe" products, has pushed the owners to relaunch an activity that seemed outdated.
Heritage Collection

Elementi antichi del Castello di Serravalle

An ancient Roman settlement, in 1114 the castle belonged to the Church of Rimini; later it passed to Berardo da Maiolo, to the Municipality of Rimini, to the Vicariate of Santarcangelo, to the Holy See, then to the Malatestas and in 1463 to San Marino.
The historic centre of Serravalle is particularly attractive, carefully restored on what was once the ancient Malatesta fortress, although little remains of the original walls and buildings. The high quadrangular tower, or Torre del Mastio, now used as a bell tower, still retains traces of the ancient structure. The narrow streets and walls, faithful to the ancient medieval architecture, create an undoubtedly peculiar urban dimension.
Heritage Collection

Museo dello Sport e dell’olimpismo

It was inaugurated on 22 May 2006 by CONS President Angelo Vicini.
It preserves : - collections of sports stamps and coins
- exhibition dedicated to the first Olympic Games in which San Marino participated in Rome
- original of the 1959 CONS certificate of incorporation
- bicycles from the 1940's of San Marino's Nello Giri, French road cycling champion
-Browning rifle with which San Marino marksman Ettore Stacchini achieved a world record in endurance with 15,000 cartridges fired at skeet shooting
- the "scaranine", forerunners of the 1940s sledge used during the winter in San Marino
- Manuel Poggiali's racing suit, 125cc world champion in 2001.
And many other historical relics.
Slow Outdoor

Parco degli ulivi

More recently created, this park is characterised by numerous olive trees that accompany the entire pedestrian route.
There is a multi-purpose court with facilities for: basketball, volleyball, tennis and five-a-side football.


Bike Experience

Ebike experience

More recently created, this park is characterised by numerous olive trees that accompany the entire pedestrian route.
There is a multi-purpose court with facilities for: basketball, volleyball, tennis and five-a-side football.
Castel and Historic House

Casa del Castello di Borgo Maggiore

People' s house, inside medieval paintings, and exhibition hall. Large conference spaces.
Heritage Collection

Convento frati minori

Convent of Friars minor House of hospitality for spirituality - Saint Joseph -
Heritage Collection

Convento dei padri servi di Maria

Order of the Friars Servants of Mary
Heritage Collection

Museo di storia naturale centro naturalistico sammarinese

Public structure established within the department of education and culture, with the aim of creating a cultural centre in the field of natural sciences and contributing to the dissemination of naturalistic-environmental culture.
Heritage Collection

Santuario della Beata Vergine della Consolazione

Churches and places of worship - parish of Saints Antimo and marino in borgo maggiore - "Madonna della Consolazione" sanctuary
Project by architect Giovanni Michelucci
Heritage Collection

Sacello del Santo Marino

The Saint's first shrine was a cave in the area now known as Baldaserrona, a visitable place of charismatic charm.


Castel and Historic House

Castello Di Pennarossa

Pennarossa Castle, on Mount Moganzio, is a very ancient site; its construction dates back to the early years of the year 1000. The fortress was purchased by the San Marino people in the first quarter of the 17th century, but it was probably already dilapidated and abandoned at the time of annexation. Nearby is the site of the Castellaccio di Fiorentino, with which it is connected by forest paths along the Toro ditch.
Slow Outdoor


Perched between two limestone hills overlooking sharp gully ridges and the dense vegetation of the Fosso del Toro, on the southern slope of Fiorentino Castle, a steep path offers unusual views, "moments" of wild nature and also the interesting historical and archaeological evidence of the ruins of the CASTELLACCIO (13th-14th centuries).


Adrenaline Active

Lunghi Archi di San Marino - Tiro con L'ARCO ISTINTIVO!

In the splendid natural setting of the Via dei Gessi, it is possible to experience the fantastic emotion of ISTINTIVE ARCHERY! Passionate archers meet in the woods to shoot arrows at inanimate targets, rediscovering and mastering the deepest and most ancestral instincts of free men immersed in nature. The Rifugio dell'arciere, a comfortable wooden chalet equipped with a kitchen, barbeque and tables, welcomes visitors. With no hurry, no particular competitive expectations or stress about results, under the watchful eye of instructors who pay attention to safety and the fundamental principles of archery, everyone will find their own path. The Longbows, founded in 1995, practice, in addition to an intense sporting activity with the code FIARC 21FSTA, historical re-enactments and activities in the historical and cultural field. Among their ranks are drummers, fighters, ladies, knights, ballet dancers and musicians who create a complete and numerous historical procession that has performed in numerous Italian and San Marino squares. The historical activity is added to that of the various existing groups of the Crossbowmen's Federation and the Arts and Crafts Group of Montegiardino, all of which make up a parade of 50 people who take part in the Historical Re-enactment Days. In reliving the ancient deeds of Cerna, it takes the healthy expression of the San Marino people around the world with medieval dances, games, fights and archery demonstrations.
Food Experience

Montegiardino miele

Montegiardino Miele is the story of a family and its passion, the Guiducci family, who over time have been able to transform their love of nature and the world of bees into a profession, passing it on from father to son. A small dream born many years ago and now finally become reality. Fiorenzo Guiducci's passion for beekeeping began in 1979, when he found his grandfather's old equipment in a cupboard. At that moment he recalled memories of watching his grandfather breeding bees when he was a child: so, by rearranging the old equipment and investing a little money, he began to practice as a beekeeper.
He started with a couple of hives, and then saw them grow year by year, until they became not only his main passion but also his life's work. For Fiorenzo, "being a beekeeper means breathing in the scent of the forest, listening to the sounds of the birds and watching the flowers, whose colours and scents compete to attract the bees".
Heritage Collection

Centro storico di Montegiardino

An ancient mediaeval village, surrounded by luxuriant and splendid countryside stretching as far as the eye can see, with views of the mass of Mount Titano and the Adriatic coast. An unusual San Marino, off the classic tourist track: Montegiardino, the smallest and least populated Castle, a hamlet of just 3.31 km². The Castle dates back to the Longobard period, although artefacts from the Roman era have been found. Long owned by the Counts of Carpegna, it was later part of the vast domains of the Malatesta family, who fortified it.
Shortly after the middle of the 15th century Montegiardino passed within the borders of the Republic. Since then its time and appearance, almost unchanged, have been enclosed in the heart of the ancient Republic. In the alleys and lanes, among the light that hits the old buildings from the side and creates suggestive shadows, you can still breathe history and traditions, letting the strong vicissitudes of the alternating conquest of the territory show through. History is the essential focus and the inhabitants do not disdain the possibility of reliving intense emotions of the past in period settings, traditions of ancient trades, excursions and organised itineraries that are truly typical and characteristic. There is no written law, but the Castle offers the freedom to walk in silence to capture the smallest details and sleep in the old houses.
Heritage Collection

Chiesa di San Lorenzo

The 19th-century Church of San Lorenzo is located just outside the village, on the outer walls, a few steps away from the town gate. Inside is a painting dedicated to the Madonna of Mercy, attributed to the Venetian artist Francesco Zugno, a pupil of Tiepolo, dating from around 1747, and the organ, built by Jacopo Bazzani in 1833, a disciple of the Venetian organ builder Gaetano Callido. The instrument has the peculiarity of the eighth string. The antependium, dating back to the previous century, is interesting.
Slow Outdoor

CAMMINO DEL TITANO - Itinerario tematico n. 3 Anello dei Gessi di Montegiardino

The network of footpaths makes it possible to explore the great variety of landscapes and natural environments and discover hidden corners. Small paths descend steeply into the narrow and shady riverbed and climb up it, wedging themselves between the chalky boulders, narrows and ravines that the water has sculpted over time by dissolving the calcium sulphate. One finds oneself immersed in a wild and dark environment where the water enters and exits from underground. The dark silhouettes of large wooden wild animals, sometimes moved by pulleys and counterweights, appear from time to time to make the place even more impressive, serving as targets in simulated bow and arrow hunts. Hidden by the vegetation are the ruins of an old water mill used for grinding cereals. Downy oak, hornbeam, locust and various species of poplar and willow accompany the path. Roe deer, badgers, porcupines, beech martens, foxes, small wild mice and tiny shrews leave their footprints in the mud.


Heritage Collection

Piazza Salvatore Conti e fontana “La Voce del Canneto” ideata e progettata da Tonino Guerra

"It is as if a wisp of our memory lives on in front of us, laden with memories and ancient presences."
Tonino Guerra
This is the suggestion used by Tonino Guerra to sign his fountain "La voce del canneto" (The voice of the reeds), one of his last works.
The fountain consists of a "reed bed" made of steel by the artist Dario Brunelli and a glass sculpture made by the artist/craftsman Fausto Baldasserini, all set in a stone basin.

Area verde protetto “Molarini”

The area is of great natural and scenic importance and has numerous viewpoints.
There is also the possibility of encountering numerous local fauna, such as roe deer, squirrels, wild boar and so on.
It is also possible to observe numerous amphibians in the 'Fonte Vivo' area.


Slow Outdoor

Castello di Acquaviva

The territory of Acquaviva Castle covers an area of 4.86 square kilometres. The Castle Council is made up of five members in addition to the Castle Captain. The symbol of Acquaviva Castle is the Montecerreto Park, from which one can admire a splendid landscape towards the Adriatic Coast on one side and the mountainous part of Montefeltro on the other. The economy of this Castle is mainly based on industry, particularly real estate, IT and business services, manufacturing and trade. In the territory of Acquaviva there are the Slaughterhouse and the Public Veterinary Centre, the Milk Station, a Nursery School, a Primary School, the playground-pole. There are also some sports facilities such as the bowling alley and the shooting range, located in Ca' Martino. The latter is an avant-garde facility capable of hosting international level events. In addition, there is a new football field with synthetic ground of the latest generation managed by the San Marino Football Federation, built in 2018 to replace the old field built in the 70s. In the downstream part of Acquaviva, called Gualdicciolo, there is a beautiful bike path that runs along the entire San Marino stream, connecting to a part of the San Marino Castle and ending in the Chiesanuova Castle.



Centro storico di Faetano

The historic centre of Faetano Castle includes the Church of St Paul the Apostle, consecrated in 1917, whose façade is embellished with bronze works by E. Mattei on the life of St Paul. There is also the Casa del Castello with a stone bell tower that contains the oldest clock in the Republic from the Parva Domus in San Marino City.
Heritage Collection

Monumento al Gurka

Memorial stone by Anselmo Giardini and Gabriele Geminiani - bronze and stone from 2008 - dedicated to the Battle of Montepulito and to the memory of the tragic events of the Second World War. In Montepulito, in 1944, German and British troops (the Gurkha of the 4th Indian Division) clashed in the fields and houses of the area.

Punto panoramico

A panoramic point from which it is possible to admire Mount Titano from a different and exciting angle, especially at sunset. Adjacent is the headquarters of the Ente Cassa di Faetano, restored in 2009 by architect Paolo Portoghesi.
Slow Outdoor

Parco del Marano e Parco Batticinque

Pleasant walk along a section of the Marano river. Well-kept park and very easy. In some sections there is also access to the river, where you can stop. There are numerous benches and a playground for children. The playground is the "Parco Inclusivo BattiCinque" and consists of an area dedicated to recreation and socialisation for all children: it is accessible and also suitable for people with disabilities.
Slow Outdoor

Rete escursionistica

Numerous paths wind their way through the Castle territory, from the state border with Coriano to the borders with the Castles of Domagnano, Montegiardino, Fiorentino and Borgo Maggiore. The Titano Path also passes through the castle.
Slow Outdoor

Lago di Faetano

Artificial lake for sports fishing, often the scene of amateur and competitive competitions.